December Blogger Beauty Box Review

This month I saw on twitter the fabulous Blogger Beauty Box which Vix Meldrew is behind and I was really looking forward to trying out the box to see what it would contain and I can tell you when it arrived yesterday I wasn’t disappointed! The blogger beauty box began in June of this year with a view to connecting beauty brands with bloggers and is available every month (while stocks last) for a very affordable £10.00, a really great price to be able to discover new products from different beauty brands.

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

acuRegen Lavender Body Oil  100ml £32.99

From a brand I haven’t heard of before acuRegen is a hydrating lavender body oil which smells very fresh and clean. Using a combination of nourishing oils (grape seed, peach kernel, avocado, jojoba, argan oil and evening primrose oils) this is targeted at dry skin that needs some extra care and attention. The scent is primarily lavender but the essential oils of the red thyme and eucalyptus comes though subtly too.  Shake up the glass bottle and the natural lavender is visible as it is suspended in the oil mixture. 

What I really liked about the oil is that once applied it doesn’t feel tacky, it sinks into the skin very well leaving the skin feeling soft and smooth. The added benefit of the essential oils makes this formula a really relaxing skin treat and it’s something I would use on the whole family including my daughters. A luxury relaxing hydrating oil which is ideal for dry skin conditions.

Dusty Girls Natural Mineral Mascara £11.00

New to me the Dusty Girls Mineral Mascara is an Australian brand whose brand philosophy is to create and sell beauty products which help improve the skin by using naturally derived minerals, and to use no harmful chemicals. The whole concept of the brand is something I really value, natural make up using as little chemicals to ‘improve’ the products as possible, making them ideal for sensitive skins like mine. 

The mascara comes in a (recyclable) box and is for ‘pitch black lashes’ with no paraben or silicone ingredients and the addition of natural jojoba oil makes applying the mascara very easy. The finish looks true to it’s name and gives intense black lashes, it’s easy to apply and at £11.00 offers good value for a natural alternative to my usual mascara. I don’t know why I haven’t thought about using a mineral mascara before, as I have changed to a mineral foundation and even mineral eye shadows, mainly due to the fact my skin is so sensitive and it was great to try and to be honest I’m a total convert now. Also included was a natural cotton bag with lots of information about the Dusty Girls products and also detailed information from MooGoo as well, a range of natural products to protect and nourish the skin.

Seascape Soothe Body Butter 175ml £22.00

I’ve used Seascape products before and they are such a treat to use, indulgent with such a pure, fresh fragrance so I was thrilled to see the ‘Soothe’ body butter in the beauty box. Using 100% natural essential oils gives a pure scent that compliments without overpowering and in this body butter the essential oils are a relaxing calming blend of lavender, mandarin and ylang ylang. All the Seascape products which are made in Jersey are free from harmful chemicals and the gentle blend of the 100% essential oils are suitable for use during pregnancy as well. 

The body butter is presented in a recyclable glass jar and box and the cream itself is a thick rich cream that once applied all but disappears into the skin,  leaving a delicate fragrance and no tacky film at all just soft skin. The beeswax, shea butter, cocoa butter, rosehip seed oil and sweet almond oil help to hydrate and repair dry skin and is ideal for this time of year when my skin feels so dry with the cold weather and central heating.  It was great to try another product from the Seascape range and it reminded me why I love the brand so much.

Anubis Barcelona Effectivity Gold Mask 20ml  & Caviar & Pearl Peeling 20ml

Both from Anubis Barcelona this mask duo from the Effectivity range are targeted to help improve the texture and look of the skin. The generous sample sizes of the Gold Mask and Caviar & Pearl can be used together or separately depending on the skin’s needs. The Caviar & Pearl Peeling mask contains AHA’s to help brighten and regenerate the skin and the formula is also rich in amino acids and EFA’s to nourish. As with all products which contain AHA’s it is sensible to be careful if you have sensitive skin and do a patch test to ensure you don’t have an adverse reaction. 

The mask is a silver colour, a gel in texture and is easy to apply, once you have applied it over the face and neck leave for 10 minutes and rinse of with warm water. After I used it my skin did feel soft and I used the Gold Mask afterward. The Gold Mask is as the name suggests gold in colour and is targeted at ageing skin nourishing and smoothing the skin, It contains Caviar Extract, Colloidal Gold, Ginkgo Biloba Extract, Kaolin Clay, Rice Extract, Pearl Powder and Hyaluronic acid, and dries on the skin much faster than the Caviar and Pearl mask. The addition of clay draws out impurities from the skin and the end result on my sensitive skin was very soft smooth skin. I will be interested to see how both masks perform on my skin over the next week or so and one other point to note is that they are both free from chemicals and quite gentle on the skin. 

Elegant Touch Avalanche Nails £8.99 & Elegant Touch Nail Guards £2.95

It’s an instant beauty ritual that finishes a look and I for one love to have either polished nails or these genius glue on false nails from Elegant Touch. Prepping the nails for acrylic nails would usually require buffing with a nail block/file but if you use the Nail Guards you can skip this step  and protect the natural nail at the same time. Just stick on the Nail Guard to the natural nail before moving on to gluing the Avalanche nails over the top. The festive (Frozen inspired?!) nails designed by Henry Holland look lovely with an added layer of sparkle over the top and are very simple to apply. 

So there you have it my first taste of the Blogger Beauty Box and I have to say I loved it, amazing value for money and most of this months products were very natural and chemical free which I love as my sensitive skin often reacts with some products which do have chemicals in. I would love to hear if you have tried any of these products before and if so what did you think?
Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Beauty Blogger Box December 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog
* I bought the Bloggers Beauty Box myself, if you would like to try one just follow the link at the top of the post to find out how. All thoughts and opinions remain my own.*

Thank you for reading, I hope you have enjoyed reading about my post about the December Blogger Beauty Box  If you like what you read, subscribe to my blog by adding your e-mail address to the box on the right.  You will be the first to hear of my updates.


  1. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    December 16, 2015 / 11:59 pm

    I really want to treat myself this xmas … this might just be my treat !! 🙂

  2. December 17, 2015 / 3:10 pm

    I LOVE the sound of the Dusty Girls Mascara. I have such sensitive skin too and mascara can make my eye's run. The best natural mascara I've ever found was by 100 Percent Pure. Smelled so good too, like berries, but so pricey. I might have to check this one out for myself x 🙂

  3. December 20, 2015 / 4:22 am

    The gold mask sounds amazing.

  4. December 20, 2015 / 6:25 pm

    I've heard of Moogoo before and as good as it sounds I think it is better to buy from a UK based company. No point trying to be all natural and ethical with a product and then ship it from Australia.

  5. December 21, 2015 / 9:38 pm

    looks like lots of great products!


  6. December 22, 2015 / 12:13 am

    Keep reading about these, and wondering whether I should get one for my wife

  7. December 23, 2015 / 9:17 pm

    The lavender body oil sounds good, I often use lavender help me calm

  8. Julie
    January 1, 2016 / 12:35 pm

    Looks like really good value, think I'll be trying them out!

  9. January 3, 2016 / 6:52 am

    I love the sound of the nail guards,I need to get some of them

  10. January 8, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    my teenage daughter loves these beauty boxes, I think she would like this one

  11. January 9, 2016 / 1:04 pm

    It must be such a lovely treat getting these in the post.

  12. January 15, 2016 / 12:10 pm

    I would love to try the Gold mask it sounds amazing

  13. January 16, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    I'd love to try out one of these boxes but with my dog they would be chewed to bits by time I got home from work!

  14. January 16, 2016 / 11:57 pm

    Ooh tempted to sign up!

  15. January 17, 2016 / 8:59 am

    This sounds lovely. What a treat to get through your letterbox!

  16. January 17, 2016 / 11:14 pm

    This is great value! love beauty boxes, ive been wanting to sign up for one. think I will seeing all the fab products you have had

  17. January 17, 2016 / 11:41 pm

    Gab review! I'd love to try a few of these after reading this!

  18. February 11, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    What good value this box is, some nice items i will think about this to buy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge