Cohorted November Black Box Review

In November Cohorted launched it’s highly anticipated subscription box after months of speculation from customers, mainly due to the fact that each month while you could buy the boxes as a one off they sold out sometimes within hours leaving many customers feeling frustrated and let down. The boxes have had a bit of a shake up, repriced at £35.00 each month (plus you will have postage to pay on top of the box price) but the first box alone has a value of over £100.00 and has top brands included. 

Many customers were really disappointed when they opened the new Black Boxes as Cohorted had advertised the Sigma Brush to be included, however only half the boxes had the brushes in them the remainder had the Cargo Cosmetics Palette as a replacement and I for one really love the addition. Yes the Sigma Brush would have been of real value to add to my cosmetic collection but the Cargo Palette is very versatile and excellent quality too. 

As with the previous beauty boxes, the luxury beauty products come neatly packed in a sturdy black box beautifully presented with a black organza ribbon and I have to admit it’s a real treat to receive the box each month, as you unwrap it you get the feeling it really is something special. 

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

1. Cargo Cosmetics The Essentials Eye Palette £35.00

Cargo Cosmetics have always delivered on fantastic quality and I love this addition to the beauty box as it’s perfectly sized to pop into your handbag and includes everything you need to create a modern, clean look. The box is very sturdy and covered with pretty modern imagery of urban architecture on the front, which echoes the theme of the palette as they have based the hues on clean modern everyday colourings. 

Inside you will find 12 highly pigmented everyday colours with a mixture of matte and shimmery shades to give a neutral or smokey look making it very versatile. It doesn’t end there as also included in the palette is a double ended brush for applying and shading and an intense full sized black eye pencil, plus the palette includes a mirror within the lid for on the go application. 

A really great palette to create an everyday look or an evening look, and the fact it’s so compact and sturdy means you can add it to your handbag and take it with you which I love, and the eyeshadow colours are perfect for this time of year . I have found the eye-shadow last really well with a little eye-shadow primer and are very true to their colours once on, all in all a great little palette that offers excellent value for money for £35.00 and this price is the cost of the Cohorted Black Box alone, which is amazing.

2. Laura Mercier The Flawless Face Book Portable Complexion Palette £38.00

Another compact make up palette this time from Laura Mercier, a luxury brand with a cult following for it’s performance and high quality. Included in the palette is a tinted moisturiser creme compact, two shades of secret camouflage, a secret concealer, mineral pressed powder with sponge applicator and a secret camouflage mini brush. All inclosed within a faux crocodile style wallet, it’s a wonderful way to try out some of the most popular Laura Mercier concealers and face bases. Expect to love this little palette, another perfect little palette for stowing away in your handbag and the nude shades were ideal for my pale skin and concealed really well where I needed it most. 

3. Bare Minerals Instant Eye Reviver £15.00

Over the last year I have added more and more Bare Minerals products into my make-up bag collection and this is something I had yet to try, don’t be fooled by it’s diminutive size as a little goes a very long way. Like no other eye product you have tried as this is a powder that once applied feels like a cool liquid, I know it sounds really odd but feels very refreshing. 

My advice would be to apply with a small concealer brush or your ring finger patting and rolling it under your eyes to revive and refresh the whole area. With mineral rich ingredients, peptides and Bare Minerals ActiveSoil Complex this formula which changes from powder to a very light cream, promises to improve the condition of the eye area instantly and over time by hydrating and refreshing the whole area. As the powder cools upon application to the skin it’s an instant hit of freshness and is really easy to apply, just make sure you don’t apply twice as it can look a little heavy.

4. Chloe Eau De Parfum Sample Size 

One of my all time favourite scents so I was delighted to see a 12ml sample size of Chloe eau de parfum with top notes of freesia, lychee and peony, middle notes of lily of the valley, rose and magnolia and base notes of amber and cedar. This is top of my Christmas list as the fragrance is so pretty and and floral and have you seen the gorgeous vintage styled glass bottle it comes in? Total luxury for me!

5.  Nails Inc Nail Polish X 2 – Chelsea Flower Show & Coleville Mews £11.00 Each

There’s nothing I like more than the instant gratification of a manicure, it can pep you right up and make you feel very ‘polished’ and these two very different full sized shades from Nails Inc are both very wearable. The nude ‘Colville Mews’ shade really suits the season and only needs two coats for a perfect finish and the bright ‘Chelsea Flower Show’ I think needs three coats for a glossy pop of vibrant red/orange. It’s a brand I really love and have used a lot as it wears so well and I find doesn’t chip as much as some others.

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog
Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog
Cohorted Black Beauty Box November 2015 Photos By My Family Ties Blog

So there you have it, the first subscription box from Cohorted, a perfect box if you are looking for luxury beauty products to try out and with over £100.00 worth of products for £35.00 I think it offers fantastic value for money. I did miss out on some of their previous boxes as I wasn’t quick enough to snap up one of the coveted beauty boxes so I for one was really pleased to see the change to subscription only, rather than missing out. 

The big news for December’s box which I am thrilled about is that beauty blogger Michelle from Thou Shall Not Covet  has collaborated with Cohorted for their first collaboration and the one item that will definitely be included is the Too Faced Soul Mates Blush Bronzer worth £28.00 and I for one can’t wait to see what else Michelle and Cohorted have put together for December’s box! 

Have You Tried The Cohorted Black Box Yet?
*Not a PR sample I am sharing this as I have loved the Cohorted beauty box! *

Thank you for reading, I hope you have enjoyed reading about my post about November’s Cohorted Beauty Box.  If you like what you read, subscribe to my blog by adding your e-mail address to the box on the right.  You will be the first to hear of my updates.


  1. December 4, 2015 / 11:36 am

    Never knew they were doing subscription boxes, I'm not much into make up but my sister is a make up guru 😉 I need to tell her to try it! Fantastic products!

  2. December 5, 2015 / 8:14 pm

    Never seen these before they look great full of decent useable stuff will be signing up thanks for the honest review

  3. December 23, 2015 / 1:00 am

    Never tried the cohorted beauty box yet. Love Chloe perfume, smells gorgeous.

  4. December 24, 2015 / 3:21 am

    Some really classy make up – a brand I have not heard of before until now!

  5. December 24, 2015 / 9:04 am

    love the nails Inc ~ so very bright! and the palette looks perfect for smokey eye look

  6. December 24, 2015 / 6:17 pm

    I would love this, some lovely products there x

  7. December 25, 2015 / 7:58 pm

    Never knew about these, I'm sorely tempted !

  8. Kim Styles
    December 26, 2015 / 11:41 pm

    Laura Mercier -The Flawless Face Book Portable Complexion Palette sounds a great product -I would use this

  9. December 28, 2015 / 11:21 am

    I've not seen these boxes, but I love the colour ranges right for day or night.

  10. January 7, 2016 / 7:57 pm

    looks a great selection!


  11. January 9, 2016 / 7:41 pm

    I think if you wear make-up daily then a box subscription like this is a very good idea as you get to sample quality products at a good price. I won a years subscription to another beauty box but the samples provided each month actually put me off this type of subscription. You give a very good review though & if I wore make-up more often This looks like one I would consider.

  12. Susan B
    January 10, 2016 / 6:07 am

    Hooray! Good quality photos and good quality words! I haven't the money to waste on unsuitable products so really appreciate reviews such as this. Thank you!

  13. January 17, 2016 / 8:27 pm

    Great review and sure to come in useful when buying new products.

  14. January 17, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    having read your review of Bare Minerals Instant Eye Revive, i might just have to purchase some now as my eyes could defo do with a reviving!

  15. Pam Francis Gregory
    January 18, 2016 / 8:55 pm

    Not tried as of yet!

  16. January 18, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    Never had a Beauty Box before but this looks lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge