Bluestone Welll Spa Review – My Family Ties

When I saw that Bluestone Resort had included within the grounds a 5* Spa Retreat I was really looking forward to experiencing the relaxing and rejuvenating treatments that they had to offer. 

Bluestone Well Spa Resort Review

As a beauty therapist I am usually giving the treatments so to receive a wonderful facial was just bliss and I felt so relaxed afterward. Following a meet and greet by the friendly practitioners at the Well Spa desk and some form filling, I was escorted to the plush and bijou waiting area to wait until my treatment time. 

The Celtic Spa Experience £35.00

I chose the Celtic Spa Experience followed by a Hydrating Espa Facial and set aside all morning to really enjoy the entire spa experience. It’s not often I find the time to treat myself to such an indulgent morning and I have to say I was really looking forward to it as soon as I had booked it online.

One tip I have is to remember to take a pound coin for the lockers in the changing room as you will need one, and ensure you go a little earlier than you have booked for to fill out the forms and get changed.

The Celtic Spa Experience was £35 for two hours and consisted of six thermal rooms to indulge in to be used alone or before a treatment to prepare the skin. Once I had changed in the very well appointed changing rooms into my swimsuit and robe, one of the lovely therapists lead me to the thermal rooms and all that was left for me to do was to select which ‘pod’ to choose first. 

Bluestone Well Spa Resort Review

The Hot Brick Sauna was first on my list and I spent some time in there to help ease muscle tension and generally relax, helped by the 60-65 degrees dry heat and every 15 minutes the ‘pod’ will automatically spray the bricks with water, so don’t be concerned when you hear a noise! The sweating produced by the hot brick sauna gives the body a chance to rid itself from toxins and help to cleanse the skin as well as ease your muscles.

Next the Herbal Steam Room (my favourite ‘pod’!) made me relax and feel amazing as the detoxifying scents of eucalyptus and citrus were heavenly, I stayed in for about 20 minutes and my skin felt so clean afterward. I alternated between these two ‘pods’ and also tried the Salt Inhalation Room which I had been reading about the therapeutic benefits of salt inhalation in relation to decongesting your body and also if you have any respiratory complaints, you don’t ‘feel’ any difference but I’m sure given a few more visits and from reading the renowned health claims, you would feel the benefits.

Bluestone Well Spa Resort Review

Having really enjoyed the Herbal Steam Room I headed for the Marine Steam Room, as heavenly as each other and the scent was intoxicating while the room itself was lit by glowing salt lamps, I have to say that these two ‘pods’ were my favourite ones as they made my skin feel so clean afterwards.

The Celtic Sauna is heated a little hotter than the Hot Brick Sauna at 80-85 degrees and is beneficial for easing the muscles and releasing toxins from the skin, it was a little too hot for me although I did manage 10 minutes twice in it. 

Bluestone Well Spa Resort Review

In-between the thermal rooms you can also use the Experience Showers which were wonderfully refreshing after the steam rooms and the Ice Room which felt amazing after the heat of the thermal rooms, you just rub the crushed ice over your body to stimulate your circulation, help with cellulite (hooray!) and naturally exfoliate. If it sounds too extreme for you why not give it a try as you may surprise yourself at how much you enjoy it!

Lastly The Hydrotherapy Pool is a blissful soak that you can relax in with different strength jets in lots of locations in the pool to give your muscles a wonderful soothing feeling while relaxing in the warm 30-35 degree water. Once you have finished in the pool you can sit an relax on the recliners in the sun.

I had a blissful two hours trying out all the thermal ‘pods’ and would completely recommend if you need something to revitalise and rejuvenate you, and your skin will feel so clean and detoxified after you have indulged in the Spa experience. If you get the chance while you are holidaying at Bluestone resort I urge you to try it out for a very relaxing two hours.

Bluestone Well Spa Resort Review

Re-Hydrating ESPA Facial £70 For 50 Minutes 

After the Celtic Spa Experience I returned to the reception area to wait for my therapist to take me up to the treatment room for my very relaxing facial. The ESPA products are natural and totally luxurious and indulgent and my therapist made me feel very comfortable and relaxed while she determined what main concerns I had with my skin and selected the right ESPA products to use during the facial.

Don’t worry if you are not sure of what sort of facial you require, as the therapists at Bluestone Well Spa are expertly trained to ascertain exactly what your skin is lacking in and marry that information up and use the right ESPA products to give you the best results from your facial.

Throughout the facial my friendly therapist checked to see if I was warm enough and comfortable, and also explained each step she was doing. Having a professional facial is so beneficial as the therapist can inspect your skin and see exactly what you need to improve and enhance your skin. It was so relaxing and the head and shoulder massage that I had while the mask was working it’s magic was just blissful and every step of the way my therapist checked the pressure to make sure I was comfortable and happy with the treatment.

At the end of the treatment my therapist explained in detail all the ESPA products she used and why and gave me a useful highlighted booklet with all the products for future reference. She led me to a relaxation room to warm up and enjoy some quite reflection and then I went back to the changing rooms to shower and change. 

No need to worry about packing any shampoo and conditioner as there are ESPA shampoo, conditioner and shower gels in all the showers which is very handy and one last thing to pack. There are also hairdryers and seating areas to ensure you leave looking as you would like and if you have time you can regroup and refuel at Caffi Môr for a healthy tasty lunch. 

I floated back to my lodge feeling revitalised and my skin felt and looked amazing, I booked my partner straight in to the Celtic Spa Experience and the Gentlemans Tonic treatment, as I knew he would benefit from the relaxing experience as he had been working so much recently. Although he is not used to the Spa experience being a bit of a man’s man! He did enjoy the indulgence of the few hours he was there, and felt very relaxed when he returned refreshed and revitalised, he slept so well that night as the massage had done the trick!

Have you had a Well Spa Treatment Yet?

Thank you for reading, I hope you have enjoyed reading all about my visit to the Bluestone Resort Well Spa Retreat. If you liked what you read today, subscribe to my blog by adding your email address to the box on the right, you will be the first to hear of all my updates.


  1. Kate Cass
    May 21, 2015 / 6:21 am

    Sounds absolutely wonderful, oh what I'd do for a spa retreat, may have to look into going! Ty for the review x x

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:38 pm

      It's a real treat to visit, and I highly recommend it if you go to Bluestone Kate 🙂

  2. May 23, 2015 / 3:02 pm

    I loved the Well Spa too! We went as a group of adults and for me, this was the best part of the experience.

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:40 pm

      It is a fabulous retreat Christine, such a relaxing place! I totally agree, the chance to unwind totally was utter bliss!

  3. July 10, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    I have been to bluestone a few times but never been to the spa- I have to go there!

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:42 pm

      It's a wonderful and indulgent treat Esther I highly recommend it if you go again!

  4. July 10, 2015 / 9:20 pm

    I have been to bluestone a few times but never been to the spa- I have to go there!

  5. July 10, 2015 / 9:20 pm

    I have been to bluestone a few times but never been to the spa- I have to go there!

  6. July 10, 2015 / 10:24 pm

    Oooh now this sounds like my ideal way to relax! Great review, thank you x

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:43 pm

      It's so brilliant and everything you would expect and more from a 5 star experience!

  7. July 11, 2015 / 7:25 am

    I need some time to relax and sort myself out. This spa would be ideal!!

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:44 pm

      It's a perfect way to unwind Stefan, I highly recommend it!

  8. iona
    July 11, 2015 / 7:25 am

    Great review – sounds great

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:47 pm

      Thank you Iona, it's a wonderful Spa to visit 🙂

  9. July 11, 2015 / 11:28 am

    I love a spa and this looks like a great one

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:50 pm

      It really is a fabulous relaxing spa Ursula – well worth a visit 🙂

  10. July 11, 2015 / 12:58 pm

    This looks really good, thanks for review

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:53 pm

      It's a lovely relaxing spa a wonderful treat for yourself 🙂

  11. July 11, 2015 / 3:57 pm

    Fantastic, perfect mum chill out time

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:55 pm

      It was so nice to have some time to really relax Sara, even though I felt a little guilty being away from the kids! 🙂

  12. Tracy B
    July 11, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    Gosh… what I wouldn't do for a spa day right now! Looks fabulous!

    • July 11, 2015 / 9:56 pm

      It's a wonderful place to visit Tracy, I would really recommend it! 🙂

    • July 12, 2015 / 9:03 pm

      It is a perfect spa for relaxing, a real treat! 🙂

    • July 12, 2015 / 9:04 pm

      It was a lovely relaxing experience Ruth – I highly recommend it 🙂

    • July 12, 2015 / 9:05 pm

      It was lovely to find that Bluestone had a spa and I felt so fantastic after my treatment Kayleigh 🙂

  13. July 13, 2015 / 8:34 pm

    Hubby and I had massages and had just settled in the Jacuzzi when we were advised our daughter didn't like the pirate adventure activity she was on and was crying for mummy so we had to leave, we were gutted 😪

  14. July 14, 2015 / 9:25 pm

    The salt inhalation room sounds really interesting. If it helps with congestion, I'd definitely give it a go.

  15. July 15, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    I want to go….NOW! Oh it sounds heavenly! The pods are something I would really love to try. I haven't had any spa treatments for about 9 years, think I need to make some time to go 🙂 x

  16. Pam Francis Gregory
    July 17, 2015 / 7:56 pm

    Sounds brill!

  17. July 18, 2015 / 5:33 am

    Sounds great , always seem to be on the go and never have a chill pamper day. Something I'm going to change

  18. July 18, 2015 / 10:35 am

    Sad to say but I have never been to a spa before 🙁 but this looks like the best place to go for your first time x

  19. July 18, 2015 / 10:45 pm

    Looks fantastic! Never been to a spa before but would love to!

  20. July 21, 2015 / 9:35 pm

    Looks like an amazing day. I've never been to a spa but would love to x

  21. July 22, 2015 / 6:39 pm

    Bliss, it looks amazing and really well priced! I would love to give this a go…thank you for hosting this amazing competition 🙂

  22. July 23, 2015 / 7:29 am

    In 35 years I have never yet been to a Spa, this sounds very relaxing! Thanks again for a great review.

  23. July 25, 2015 / 10:35 am

    Sounds great – it is not far away from me will have to think about going there.

  24. July 25, 2015 / 8:56 pm

    sounds like my idea of heaven! (not sure I'd get away with a visit whilst on a family holiday though)

  25. July 27, 2015 / 11:33 pm

    Wow i wish i was there, looks incredible 🙂

  26. August 3, 2015 / 9:48 am

    The Celtic Spa experience sounds so great! I love a good facial. I'd definitely treat myself to this if I was away there!

    M xx

  27. August 5, 2015 / 10:34 pm

    Sounds just perfect.

  28. August 9, 2015 / 10:46 am

    Sounds absolutely lovely and the price on some of the treatments are quite reasonable

  29. August 11, 2015 / 9:41 am

    Wow I'd love to get chance to go to somewhere like this!!! I'm going to Ribby Hall this weekend on a wee break… they have an Aqua Thermal Journey which sounds amazing! Great review.

  30. Anonymous
    August 11, 2015 / 5:24 pm

    The Herbal Steam Room sounds heavenly! All sounds good value for money too – Jodie Cook

  31. August 11, 2015 / 9:37 pm

    This sounds like bliss, I haven't been to a spa yet, I thought they would be much more expensive.x

  32. August 11, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    Wow looks so relaxing think I need a visit on my own without the hubby ☺ a nice girly trip

  33. August 11, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    Wow looks so relaxing think I need a visit on my own without the hubby ☺ a nice girly trip

  34. August 12, 2015 / 12:51 pm

    id love to visit here sounds so nice and relaxing!

  35. August 16, 2015 / 6:37 am

    This sounds so nice; the perfect way to relax.

  36. August 16, 2015 / 6:28 pm

    That looks absolutely lovely and really reasonable price too!

  37. August 19, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    The spa sounds amazing. Hope i get to try it one day.

  38. August 23, 2015 / 2:38 pm

    It sounds so relaxing, would love to try it.

  39. August 23, 2015 / 3:44 pm

    I thought the Well Spa saunas and showers were lovely but I did miss the free refreshments you normally find in Spas (teas, fruit etc)

  40. August 23, 2015 / 10:57 pm

    never been to a spa, but bluestones looks lush

  41. August 23, 2015 / 11:08 pm

    Wow, looks amazing!

  42. August 25, 2015 / 8:59 am

    looks fabulous stunning pictures would be a real treat for me

  43. August 25, 2015 / 12:49 pm

    This spa looks perfect for some (much needed) me time!

  44. August 25, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    Sounds wonderful and oh how many times have I got to a locker room without the obligatory £1 coin! Not sure about the Ice Room – even reading it made me shiver!

  45. August 25, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    Would rather be there than here right now! 😉

  46. August 26, 2015 / 6:07 am

    I never tried this spa when i was here – I think I'd be very tempted next time if i were to go back! x

  47. August 26, 2015 / 4:44 pm

    Me and my family love Bluestone but haven't tried the spa yet x

  48. August 26, 2015 / 9:13 pm

    I love spa days and treatments. it must have been lovely and relaxing for you. I couldn't have braved the ice though, and I am not too keen on being in saunas for long. Spa days make you feel so pampered don't they?

  49. LTabstar
    October 25, 2015 / 7:51 am

    Oh wow… looks incredible! It's been too long since I visited a spa!

  50. June 12, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    This place sounds amazing
    Looking for somewhere for a treat for my neices 21st birthday in august
    Sounds perfect

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge